How to Migrate WordPress using All in One Migration?

Are you planning to move your WordPress website to a new hosting or in a new server? The biggest risk you might face while doing so is data loss and downtime. Both of these will make your website temporarily unavailable to your users and search engines which might result in loss of sales and search engine rankings. So, to prevent this you might think of creating back up of all the data of your website and perform the migration whenever it’s required.

Here, in this article, we will provide a short tutorial to show you how to migrate your WordPress website using a WordPress plugin – All in One Migration. It is a free migration plugin that lets you back up all the data (database, media files, plugins, and themes) of your website and transfers it to another website.

So, let’s begin:

STEP 1:

Download the All in One Migration plugin from the WordPress.org repository for free of cost. Then, install and activate it on your WordPress website.

Migrate WordPress Using All in One Migration

STEP 2:

After you have successfully activated the plugin you will see All-In-One Migration on your WordPress website. Click on it.

Migrate WordPress Using All in One Migration

STEP 3:

You will land to the Export page of the plugin. Here, hover over Export To-, and select the File option.

STEP 4:

A popup will appear that will archive your files. After it is completed, click on the button of the popup window to download your file.

STEP 5:

Repeat Step 1 and 2 to install All In One Migration plugin on your new WordPress.

STEP 6:

On the new WordPress website, go to All-In-Migration > Import to transfer the data from your old website.

Migrate WordPress Using All in One Migration

STEP 7:

Drag and drop the .wpress file that you have downloaded from your original website to start the import.

STEP 8:

Once the file successfully imported click on “Proceed”.

STEP 9:

Then, you will receive a confirmation message that your import is successful. Login out of your dashboard and then login in back.

STEP 10:

Then, go to Settings > Permalinks and then click on “Save Changes” to save the permalinks of your website.

STEP 11:

That it! Check your new website to make sure everything is correct or not.